No wife at home

by

I’m a management consultant- and I do know that means long hours, lots of travel and often thankless work. However, about 6 months ago I refused to do a trip that would have meant I was at home for 4 hours in 6 weeks, which I was told about at short notice. I was called into the partner’s office and told off- I was disappointing the client etc. I said I didn’t think the request was reasonable, explained that I had basic admin I needed to do- I needed to leave money out for the cleaner, pay bills and check post, do some washing etc and that I thought my proposal (going home over two weekends) was better given the demands on my time. His face fell- and he said ‘I suppose you don’t have a wife to help you out, do you’- before he told me I needed to arrange my personal life to ensure it didn’t interfere with my work.

There is so much wrong with this I don’t know where to start- from the ‘anytime, anywhere’ business model, via the assumptions about wives and their roles, to the disadvantage anyone without a stay at home partner is forced to surmount. And when did doing washing become my personal life?!

Rachel

2 Responses to “No wife at home”

  1. corridor7f Says:

    I sympathise. I seriously doubt a woman could get a man to fill that role as completely as women currently do.

    Also, I do not want to ever work as hard as the men seem to work at your company, regardless of how much help I have at home. I do not believe it’s healthy at all, mentally or physically, and no amount of money is worth it.

  2. notemily Says:

    I hate all of those attitudes. I never want a job that expects me to be “on the job” 24/7! And the “wife at home” comment just demonstrates how little he understands about the at-home work that women have traditionally been stuck with.

Leave a Reply

