Confession

by

I told my boyfriend’s parents that I was a feminist.

Me: …Yes, I’m a feminist.

My boyfriend’s mother: Oh dear, I’m not too sure about that stuff. I do love a good apron you know.

My boyfriend’s father: I know you do darling.

MFIF or… My fault I’m a feminist.

Ella, Iceland

2 Responses to “Confession”

  1. Tweets that mention Confession « My Fault, I'm Female -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Shafinaaz Hassim and les wolves. les wolves said: Confession: I told my boyfriend’s parents that I was a feminist. Me: …Yes, I’m a feminist. My boyfrien… http://bit.ly/gLvh9u #feminism […]

  2. popesuburban Says:

    Oh, barf. This just happened to me with a couple friends. They’re both intelligent, educated people who are non-traditional as all get-out, but they told me that because I like baking and don’t “look manly,” I couldn’t possibly be a feminist. As if liking cookies means I don’t think I should be paid for the work I do, or have a say in my own medical care. I voiced my opinion that what they said was bullshit, but it didn’t sink through. Don’t really know what I’m going to do about that, but no matter what, I’ve lost a lot of respect for them as thinking people.

Leave a Reply

