Help find missing people: bake

by

I’m a professional wildlife biologist and as such I’ve spent a fair bit of my time doing aerial wildlife surveys which consist of flying established grids while scanning visually for any sign of wildlife or habitat disturbance, be it of my study species or otherwise.

Recently I had a conversation in a professional setting with a local peace officer about my interest in joining our volunteer search and rescue team who do aerial surveys for missing people using methods very much like my wildlife surveys.

The officer shook his head at me and related a story about how he was involved in a successful search where he found a missing person and knew they’d be in the area because of how well he was able to identify the debris from their boat: things like yellow life jackets and bright red fuel cans.

He then proceeded to tell me that I wouldn’t know what to look for in a human search but could still help the search team. In all seriousness, he said that I could help by baking muffins for them for breakfast. Full stop.
My professional skills are no good. #MFIF.

Mackrelmint, Canada

2 Responses to “Help find missing people: bake”

  1. jesurgislac Says:

    Wow. Hope you don’t let this creep put you off: sounds like you’d be better at the job than he is!

  2. piewackett1 Says:

    Please try to implement your idea with someone who has a brain. It’s a great one.
    Sherlock connected bright yellow life jackets with boats? Genius.

Leave a Reply

