Borough bore

by

On a trip to Borough Market in London this afternoon, my (male) partner and I grabbed a burger each for late breakfast, and then headed to The Rake pub on the outskirts of the market for a couple of bottles of real ale to complement our food.

I picked out a bottle for myself, and got my money out to pay… but the barman turned to my partner to ask his selection, ignoring me entirely. I waited, thinking he was going to take both our monies at the end, but instead, he told my partner the total amount and looked genuinely surprised when I handed over what I guessed was approximately my share of the order.

Of course, I should have known – women don’t buy their own beer! How silly of me.

#MFIF

Katie

Leave a Reply

