Doctor knows best?

by

I have a pixie haircut. When I was last at the doctor, he asked me, “so, what’s with the short hair?”

Apparently I have to explain my choice of haircut. I’m guessing that he never gets asked that question about his (equally short) hair. #MFIF

Allegra

Tags:

12 Responses to “Doctor knows best?”

  1. jesurgislac Says:

    Can you report him? Aside from the #MFIF aspect of his stupid comment – it’s unprofessional of him to make comments about a patient’s personal appearance.

  2. bright24 Says:

    Are you able to get another doctor? The last thing anyone wants is their medical practioner, someone who knows their vulnerabilities and touches them in intimate places, making personal remarks.

  3. bright24 Says:

    *practitioner

    (sorry, pedantic, can’t help myself)

  4. b0stonpinay Says:

    Am I the only person who doesn’t think his question is insulting in the least?

    He could have phrased it more politely, but asking about a person’s haircut hardly qualifies as sexist.

    • rillion Says:

      It’s at the very least a stupid question. There’s no reason why a short haircut– or any haircut at all– requires an explanation, least of all for one’s doctor.

    • jesurgislac Says:

      So you think he’d have asked a man “so, what’s with the short hair?”

      Even if he really does ask ALL his patients about their hair – men and women – he should have a valid medical justification for doing it.

      If mistakenly he thinks “asking women about their hair puts them at their ease” he needs to be told no, it doesn’t.

  5. Diana B. Hurlburt Says:

    Many, many people I don’t know or am only meeting because of a business transaction feel the need to ask me about my short hair.

  6. laurarrs Says:

    I had this happen to me on more than one occasion when I had short hair. I use to have my hair almost shaved it was so short. I did it just for fun and to not have to mess with it but I was asked repeatedly, why did you do that, you know you look like a lesbian etc…..

    I grew my hair out after a while just because I wanted a change again but it was always annoying to be questioned about my hair. Course my son went through the same thing when his hair was really long. He had hair down to his waist and he was constantly harassed about looking like a girl until he finally cut it. He is growing it out again now but the pressure to fit a certain mold of how a guy should wear his hair is almost as bad as it is for a woman.

    MFIF Fem Phil Corvallis

  7. ausbirch Says:

    For mine what makes this a sexist comment is the word ‘short’, as in there is something about short hair on a woman that requires explanation.

    Also comments about appearance in a non-social situation are a bit creepy. I’d prefer my doctor not comment on my appearance at all unless there’s a medical reason to do so. Even “Great hair cut,” or “short hair really suits you” would be inappropriate IMHO

    I wore a pixie cut for many years, and had similar experiences to some of the other posters. Some men (complete strangers usually) felt so strongly about short hair on women that they just had to push their opinions on me. The usual complaints were that it’s unfeminine or butch. Even though it suits me, I have a feminine figure that leaves no doubt as to my gender, and I have small, feminine features (hence why the gamine cut works for me).

    I’ve just (two days ago) had my hair cut short again. The hairdresser was ecstatic about how great it looks but I’m betting on no more than a week before the first male tells me how I’d be more attractive to him if I grew my hair.

  8. mcsqueeky Says:

    People say some stupid things when a woman has short hair. Many still have the old fashioned idea that women must have long hair, or that long hair is the most beautiful — anything shorter and you must look like a man.

  9. ladyrummy Says:

    I don’t have a pixie cut, but I did shave my hair down to 1/4″ in length. That was last month. It’s since grown out some. My once-a-year doc basically said the same thing to me. But I laughed and told him that I’m lazy and this was so much easier. Then he laughed and said I matched him. I wasn’t offended. But he didn’t say “short hair” just that it was different from last year (last year, it was down to my shoulder and really curly). *shrugs* Doctors (both male and female) really need to work on their “bedside manners”.

  10. corridor7f Says:

    When I had short hair I’d have many people ask about it. It’s more in the tone of voice, like they think it was a mistake or I don’t realize how “…SHORT it is!”.

    Now that my hair’s just past my shoulders, I realize how much people define women by their hair. If they don’t have a lot of hair, they get confused, poor things.

    You get used to it, but a doctor making a comment like that (assuming the tone was anything but pleasant) would probably make most women uncomfy.

Leave a Reply

