Women: you created the youth cult. Deal with it.

by

I was reading the okcupid blog today and I came across this comment:

I’m a 51 year-old single man who dates often. The truth is women have put themselves in a position where youth and beauty is what defines them as women. The spend the cash on clothes, facelifts, boob jobs, etc. Of course men have been trained to believe this also and define a woman by how she looks. Once a woman hits her 30s… it’s downhill, 40s… she’s overweight and getting wrinkled, 50 and she’s just not attractive to men and if she is men are afraid she’ll “fall apart” at any moment and look old fast.

Ladies, don’t blame men, we are what you’ve trained us to be driven by your youth/beauty and you used it while you could on us and you enjoyed the power of your youth… the power over men. Then, when it evaporated, you became angry and blamed men – wrong. If you don’t like the current system train your daughters differently and stop taking up 9/10 of the floor space in department stores and being so superficial. Redefine what a woman truly is and retrain men to appreciate it. You can’t have it both ways.

Women have created these biases. Yup. It’s all our fault.

KLG/USA

#MFIF

Tags: ,

15 Responses to “Women: you created the youth cult. Deal with it.”

  1. Merely Academic Says:

    You know, it’s nice when the misogynist lunatics identify themselves so blatantly, and save women the time it would take to have coffee with them and flush them out. Though this one is obvious enough that it wouldn’t take more than half a cup.

    • branchmonster Says:

      Well put. I’d like to add that I’m surprised this man “dates often.” Does that mean “I date a woman once before she figures out that I’m a misogynist creep”?

      • celia56 Says:

        He probably dates so often because no woman in her right mind would date him twice… sadly you can’t always judge what a man is really like on first acquaitance. So yeah you’re probably right.

  2. pavlovsothercat Says:

    Wow, some people really know how to endear themselves to others. So in getting involved with this guy I’d know right off that he’d be happy to construct some sort of statement to the effect that I was to blame for everything ever. Nice to know where you stand. As far away from him as possible really.

  3. popesuburban Says:

    I second all previous comments, and would like to add: history FAIL.

  4. jesurgislac Says:

    I guess he “dates often” because he never gets more than one date?

  5. beso0014 Says:

    My favorite part of the comment: “Redefine what a woman truly is and retrain men to appreciate it.”

    Wait, so not only do we have to shift the impossible, superficial beauty standard all by ourselves, we then have to “retrain” men to change their perceptions also? Yeah, I’m sure that’ll go over really well.

    “Power of your youth… the power over men” was another choice bit. If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a thousand times, THE POWER TO GIVE MEN BONERS IS NOT ACTUALLY POWER. Faugh!

  6. snooj Says:

    Woah woah. Let me take apart what you said. Many women such as myself do not fit the description you shared.

    “The truth is women have put themselves in a position where youth and beauty is what defines them as women. The spend the cash on clothes, facelifts, boob jobs, etc.”

    Let’s see… what beauty products do I own? Does sunscreen count? If not, I guess I don’t have any. I don’t wear make up. I don’t put anything in my hair. No beauty products.

    Now the clothes… My newest shirt is three years old. Trust me, my cash isn’t going there. Needless to say, I don’t live in a department store either.

    No thanks to facelifts and boob jobs. I’m not putting my health on the line for that.

    Here’s another part you said:
    “The truth is women have put themselves in a position where youth and beauty is what defines them as women.”

    I don’t define myself by my youth and beauty. I define myself as an educated software developer who is also an artist. Someone who has a soft spot for stray cats and tends to take them home. Someone who enjoys taking a run in a nature trail…. Nothing about youth and beauty. How to define myself as a woman though? I have XX chromosomes.

    By the way, I don’t blame men. That is, of course, sexist. I blame people such as yourself who continue to spread sexism.

    I also won’t “retrain men”. Men such as yourself need to learn to think for themselves rather than be told what to do or what to think.

    • mryan91 Says:

      It’s not what the OP said, it’s something that they came across in a blog. The 2 big paragraphs ate what the blog said. Just wanted to make that clear because the way the above comment is worded sounds like it’s being directed as if the OP stated the idiotic, sexist remarks.

  7. lottieruby Says:

    “The truth is women have put themselves in a position where youth and beauty is what defines them as women.”

    Ah, no. Women have been PUT in the sexist position of eternal youth and beauty because patriarchal society demands a made-up, perfectly-clothed, groomed, lady-like, thin, beautiful girl/woman who is young-looking (you know, just BE 15) pretty much 24-7. Don’t be too smart either, in fact, just don’t speak, let the man’s take care of that. And dinner too.

    Yeah, I can see why this asshole is single.

  8. celia56 Says:

    I was under the impression that most of the so-called “beauty industry” and magazines were run by men… oh sorry, I’m female, what would I know?

  9. aquatea Says:

    Uh oh. I’m going to be thirty next year. I guess my expiration date is up.

  10. scrivener212 Says:

    This bozo is not only on drugs, he’s ignorant. It’s men who have shaped this tangle throughout history, discarding old wives/mistresses/concubines/slaves for younger ones, forcing older women to compete with younger ones to retain relevance/power/position/the right to survive. *We* control the floor space in department stores? *We* control the clothes we wear?

    Some men just make me tired.

    • mryan91 Says:

      Exactly. I mean just look at the 1950’s. As soon as the boys came home the media started shoving out ads and marketing schemes to get women off of the factory floor and back to the linoleum one.

Leave a Reply

