Biking gender

by

I’m still trying to comprehend what I saw last weekend. I go camping a lot and so I know that some people take their children and send them out of the tents to play in the field. So this weekend I wasn’t surprised to see three boys probably aged 4, 5 and 7 (the ages will be important later) riding past our tent on their bikes. I was also interested to see their 3 bikes had hoops on to carry a football. I was just thinking even though I am a girl I would have found one of these useful when I was young.

The thing that horrified me most was eventually the boys’ two sisters came out of the tent. The two girls were probably 7 and 8 years old, their new bikes has stabilisers on and their parents were holding them steady as they rode slowly past. So the 4 year old boy could ride a bike but the 7 year old girl could not. Clearly the parents didn’t think it was necessary for girls to ride bikes. Until they realised if the girls could ride they could send them out of the tent to play on their bikes. I was also disappointed that the girls’ bikes had doll carriers on the front. No place for a football but of course what would they need a ball for. TFTF

#MFIF Onlooker, UK

2 Responses to “Biking gender”

  1. truthtruthlie Says:

    I’m sorry, but this is just ridiculous. This based off of assumptions, which is completely unfair. Perhaps, one year for Christmas/Birthday/whatever, the boy wanted a bike, but the girl wanted something else. And then maybe more recently she made a new friend who lived too far away to walk to, so then she asked for a bike. Or perhaps her parents couldn’t really afford two new bikes at the same time, and the girl chose to receive something else.

    They are many possible reasons for this scenario, but yours just doesn’t make sense.

  2. sz01 Says:

    I agree – far too many assumptions.

    I also agree with the comment above. I have a ten year old niece who was recently complaining to me that she didn’t have a bike in her size anymore. She’d just had a birthday – what did she ask for (and get)? A £200 DSi. Naturally, I called her up on it and said she should have asked for a (much cheaper than that too) bike.

Leave a Reply

