Caught her eye

by

This week, I have my great aunt, my grandmother, and my sister over to take care of me while my parents are away, seeing as I’m underage.

As I was coming back from the bathroom and into the living room, I heard some dance-worthy, cool music coming from my sister’s room upstairs. In a spur-of-the-moment sort of thing, I started to do a silly dance move, of course. And I had fun doing it, it was just innocent fun, and even though there wasn’t a thing about it, my great aunt said, “Good god, you be dancing like that and all the boys will be raping you.” My grandmother casually brought up the fact I bellydance, something I’ve done periodically for almost a year now and been interested in as an exotic art form. my great aunt didn’t say anything, but looked at her book with her eyes wide, and shook her head looking mildly disgusted.

Sorry, I guess I can’t enjoy dancing since it’s an art, no matter how, because it’s #MFIF.

Dance Girl, Canada

7 Responses to “Caught her eye”

  1. H Says:

    Hmm…nice victim-blaming there from your granny and aunt.

  2. Pavlov's Cat Says:

    Yep, no dancing, no drinking, and soon no talking either. Because it’s not like you have a right to exist or anything.

  3. Charlotte Says:

    Of course all those boys out there will be SO worked up from all your scandalous dancing and end up raping you, they just can’t help it see, all your fault being all female and all. No living either, you’ll go and get yourself raped.

  4. Sara Says:

    Well maybe you have a good career as a house plant ahead of you. Y’know you can stand inside and look pretty and your aunt and granny can comment about how lovely you look. God forbid you ever try to enjoy yourself

  5. branchmonster Says:

    That is such a polite way of speaking to other people. Way to go, great aunt.

  6. notemily Says:

    I love belly dancing, so it makes me really mad when people act like it’s some degrading, slutty thing. It’s a body-positive dance! It doesn’t require you to be a certain weight or size, unlike some extremely restrictive dances such as ballet. It just requires you to learn the movements and express them with your body. It’s been a really positive thing for me. Don’t let the victim-blamers get you down.

  7. popesuburban Says:

    What a horrifying world she must live in, if she thinks all men are rapists who can be provoked to attack at the drop of a hat.

Leave a Reply

