McAssault

by

When I left school at sixteen I got a job in a fast food restaurant. It was a terrible job in difficult conditions with antisocial hours, but it convinced me to go to college and uni so it wasn’t a total loss, although I only lasted there three months.

After I’d been there about two months they hired a young man a few years older than me. We didn’t really get on but I assumed it was just a personality clash and no one’s fault so I just got on with it. However, he started flirting with most of the other girls who worked there. Some didn’t mind, but some did and even when they told him so he continued. His comments and behaviour gradually got more aggressive and I saw several female work colleagues upset by his behaviour. A few made complaints about him but were effectively told to stop being silly.

One evening I was on shift with him and I went behind the counter to get something and he followed me. He grabbed hold of me, pushed me against a wall and tried to touch my chest. I pushed him away and told him to ‘f**k off’. He sloped off looking sheepish, but then my shift manager shouted at me for swearing when then customers could here me. I was upset and frightened both by what he’d done and the reaction of my shift manager so I decided to hand in my notice.

I never regretted leaving that job, but I wish I’d had the guts to take further action and I hope he never did something similar to anyone else. Oh well, #MFIF.

Ana

13 Responses to “McAssault”

  1. Mat Says:

    Hate guys. That is all.

  2. eamyvi Says:

    Awww it’s a shame that happened. Could you still complain to the manager? I’d love to hear that bastard been punished.

  3. Luna_the_cat Says:

    Uuuurrrrrghhh….!

  4. Femme Says:

    In france, if you are assaulted while minor, you have 10 years from your 18th birthday to press charges.

  5. Burnt Cheese Says:

    So sexual assault is fine, but you’d better not swear in front of customers!!!! That is so awful, I’m sorry you had to experience this.

    • Paula Says:

      IN the manager’s defense: He might not have seen what happened, just heard her cursing. If she didn’t say anything about why she was cursing, how is he supposed to know? NOT saying it’s her fault, just saying you can’t blame someone for something they didn’t know about.

  6. Anne Says:

    How long ago was it? Do you remember his name or that of the manager? Do you think they still work there or for the same chain? I can’t believe the management actually told YOU off and not him.

  7. Zippa Says:

    I could have written this story, except I didn’t have the option of quitting the job for several months. I’m sorry it happened to you.

  8. Kate Says:

    I had a similar situation happen to me when I was 16 and working in a music store. The guy who gave guitar lessons at night while I worked would try to pin me against the counter and rub himself on me “by-accident” all the time.

    I eventually quit a few months later with no notice, since he’d worked there 20 years already and I’d never have been listened to.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    “Hear”, not here. No doubt you only got a job there.

  10. Dude Says:

    Sexual harassment in the workplace is still tolerated. I hope this trend changes soon 😦

  11. Tracy Says:

    I had something similar happen to me, twice. The first time I complained and nothing happened so I transfered to another location. When a male coworker stuck his hand up my shirt without permission, I said nothing because I learned that nothing happens.

  12. Penn Says:

    Sadly, he probably has done the same to others, before and afterwards. Men who assault women do so because there are no repercussions.

Leave a Reply

