Re-jected

by

My name is Re (pronounced like Ray). While in high school I was trying to find a job to save up for college and my wood shop teacher knew that. So when he received a phone call during class from the local hardware store asking him to recommend somebody for their open position he said “Re’s a senior in my class, who’s looking for a job and really knows their way around the tools. Yeah, I’ll let Re know to come down and apply today”.

As soon as he got off of the phone my teacher turned to me and said “It’s your lucky day, the hardware store downtown needs a clerk so I recommended you, they’re expecting to hear from you today and they’re really excited about it.” I went to the hardware store walked up to the counter and said “Hi, I’m Re, my wood shop teacher said you were hiring.” To which they replied “oh, YOU’RE Re?” I didn’t get the job, instead it was given to a male classmate who had been fired from his last job for stealing. I guess it’s #MFIF

Re

5 Responses to “Re-jected”

  1. Kris Says:

    WOW. :/ That is just unbelievable. (Well… perhaps not.) I can’t believe they’d trust a guy that was fired for stealing over – God forbid – a GIRL. Really shows what their priorities were.

    Although, perhaps you dodged a bullet there. With a work environment like that, maybe you wouldn’t have wanted to be hired…

  2. Brittany-Ann Says:

    *facepalm*

    I wonder what your teacher thought of that.

  3. Matt G. Says:

    Yeah, you probably dodged a bullet.

    Still, that is a very solid basis for an employment discrimination lawsuit.

  4. A Different Sam Says:

    That’s pretty much unambiguous employment discrimination right there. Sadly, a lawsuit probably isn’t financially worthwhile, and as Kris noted, that’s not exactly a good work environment anyhow.

  5. Luna_the_cat Says:

    I don’t know if this makes you feel any better or not, but I feel I need to share this with you.

    My grandmother on my father’s side was a very…um…unconventional woman. She was tiny — about 4’10”, and weighed maybe 100 lbs. dripping wet — and she walked with a serious limp from having had tuberculosis of the hip. Nevertheless, in 1925 in New York, she taught shop in a boys’ “reform school” to a bunch of juvenile delinquent teenage boys. She couldn’t sew worth a damn, but she knew her way around all forms of metal and carpentry tools.

    I think she finally lost that job after a year or two when one of the boys succeeded in really pissing her off and she was caught chasing him with a saw yelling “come back here you little shit, I’ll cut YOUR legs off!”

    I think you’d have like her.

Leave a Reply

