Man, corrected

by

I’ve been a shop assistant in a clothes chain for two years now, and my (mainly female) managers usually draft me in to train new employees on our registers because I have a great customer service record. For the Christmas temp period we draft in a lot of new staff, and I was training a team of seven, five women and two men.

It usually takes about an hour to go through everything as well as monitor their progress independently for 30 minutes. However, one of the men was being exceptionally rude to every customer and wasn’t calculating change properly – I came over to lend a hand and demonstrate, reasoning that a mass training session for the busiest time of the year isn’t the best situation we could have.

However, he asked me who the duty manager was and I rang them for assistance (he refused to tell me the problem). When our (male) duty manager arrived, he asked to be retrained by them because he couldn’t take a “little girl” seriously. Yet the other six people, including the other man, were pitch perfect, but I guess it’s #MFIF.

Fran, Leeds

9 Responses to “Man, corrected”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    That is ridiculous! I had similar experiences when I was younger. I was a black belt in Tae Kwon Do and was often called on to instruct classes. Most of the students were adult males, whose egos couldn’t take being instructed by a “little girl.” They were so disrespectful.

  2. Matt G. Says:

    That idiot ought to have been fired on the spot for insubordination and ineptitude.

  3. kly Says:

    So you fired him, I assume.

  4. Alex Says:

    I had that issue when I was in high school. I worked very hard to become editor-in-chief of the school paper when I was a junior, but I had no say over who was to be in the class and therefore on my staff. The next year, I had a couple senior boys who took the class thinking it would be an easy A, and when I tried to assign stories to them or ask for their input, they would walk out or talk to each other and blatantly ignore me until our advisor had to step in. They said (so everyone in the classroom could hear) they couldn’t take “that chick” seriously, especially because I was “what, like, 12?” I guess it was my fault for being young AND female.

    • artsynomad Says:

      I had pretty much the same experience as yearbook editor. I ended up putting a large amount of the book together myself because my only other option was to miss deadlines and lose thousands of school dollars in late fees.

  5. Brian Vonder Says:

    You know, I actually dealt with something similar. I got hired on for the Christmas season. I’ve worked a lot of retail and know my way around a register. 3 of us shared a register and everyone was on it, myself and two female co-workers. At the end of the day the drawer was 12 cents short. Our manager blamed me because “men can’t handle running a register”. First off it was 12c, secondly I reason that I was a third responsible. So 4c. Yes I could have miss counted by a dime, I’m not perfect, but nobody is and it could have been anyone one of us on a register.

    People who think mathematical, technical or customer service skill has anything to do with sex are just being willfully ignorant. I feel your pain Fran.

    • CM Says:

      Brian, as annoying and complicated working relationships can be, this site is called “My Fault, I’m Female”, not “My Fault, my boss is an ass”.

      We understand that men suffer because of patriachy too, but anti-101 arguments like “reverse sexism” and “gender blindness” don’t fly in feminist circles.

      You got treated bad, yes. But to frame your experience as male as just as bad as a woman’s experience is not fair – male privilege allows you recourse far more than a woman (eg: being believed in harrasment discussions/suits; moving on to another job)

      I know this is a challenging thing to be served up if you identify as an ally, but part of being a male feminist ally means having to re-examine your privilege.

      • jessiejellybean Says:

        I’m so sick of the battle of the sexes- in this culture we’re all oppressed and repressed one way or another. It seems like there’s this stupid contest going on between feminists and mens rights people of “who has it worse” in our society- it’s childish. Women are worse off than men in some areas (and this is a great blog to showcase those instances), and men have it worse off in other areas. The thing is that there’s too many facets of our society and different point of views to really determine a winner so why don’t we all work together for equality?

      • boydrewboy Says:

        There is no such thing as reverse sexism. Sexism is sexism regardless of which direction it goes. “Male privilege” also “allows us” to lose custody suits and have next to no defense in rape cases. As long as you frame your reality in an “us versus them” mindset, that’s how life will be.

Leave a Reply

