Pulled over

by

I was walking home one day down the road I lived (which was a road that cars used to turn down to get elsewhere). Two young creeps drove alongside me, the passenger saying ‘hey baby’ get in the car’. I ignored them and they carried on curb crawling beside me.

There were cars parked in between so I didn’t feel I’d be dragged into the car. When he asked me to get in the car again I said ‘No’ in a bored voice. He then said why? like it was an odd thing that I turned it down so I shouted ‘ BECAUSE THAT’S THE KIND OF THING A RAPIST WOULD SAY’. The driver then laughed and drove off. The car turned and was going to drive back past me. I thought about ducking behind the car but was so angry I was going to scream if they shouted/threw anything. When the car drove past me the passenger leaned over the driver and said out the window in a whiny voice ‘don’t call me a rapist!’, like I was the one that offended him. I shouted don’t act like one then and they sped off. #MFIF

Tara

11 Responses to “Pulled over”

  1. teleen Says:

    Almost the exact same thing happened to me when I was 15. A guy got out of his car to ‘ask me for directions’ and got upset when I refused to come near him, going so far as to say, ‘fine, be that way.’ So sorry to offend you, but I had no desire to be kidnapped and raped that day. Whatever, MFIF.

  2. Ayla Says:

    The perfect application for mace if I ever heard it!

  3. Charlotte Says:

    I don’t get why guys think it’s their goddamned right to to this to girls/women? Like you said, like they think it’s okay or normal, personally invading our space in the most sexually demeaning way. It’s also really really annoying, especially if you’re in a rush.

  4. Asinknits Says:

    I don’t exist just so I can be street harrassed. When guys do that to me, I call them very nasty and rude names, they usually get the hint and take off.

  5. Merely Academic Says:

    I had one guy pull over, at 4 in the afternoon, and wave a map at me, asking me for directions. I was 18, looked younger, and was on my way into my apartment (which was right there) and carrying 2 bags of groceries, and dressed in jeans and a big formless t-shirt. I mean there was no way I looked like I was “looking for attention”. And waving a map, right, must be innocent?

    So I approached and asked where he was trying to go and he said, “I”m looking for a certain kind of girl (leer) – do you want a “date” with me?”

    I stepped back and said loudly, genuinely shocked (I was young and innocent then) “No! And you should be ashamed of yourself!”

  6. Laur Says:

    This kinda thing happens to a friend of mine when she’s out jogging. Random men will stop her and ask her (yes, while she’s JOGGING) for her number or for a date.

  7. Tara Says:

    We dont have mace over here, otherwise they would have got it! I dont know who the hell raises these people and wonder how they would like it if someone tried doing that to their mum or sister. Pathetic!xXx

  8. Chelsea Says:

    @Merely Academic: Even if you were topless it would haven given no one any right to sexually harass you!

    And @OP: A brick through the car windsheild would have been great. Disgusting creeps.

  9. Nika Says:

    I’ve had those experiences, and even when on the surface it seems innocent/harmless I think it is better to trust your instincts. When I was walking back to campus from the local grocery store, middle of winter in northern WI, a guy in a truck pulled over and offered me a lift to campus. I politely said ‘no thank you’, and was glad when he left. Even though I was freezing, and even if the guy had been nice and only wanted to give me a ride to campus, I couldn’t take a risk on my safety with a strange man when my gut was telling me not to trust.

  10. M Says:

    RE: being approached by ambiguous/non-(obviously)-harassing men in cars

    I was walking home to my dorm on my college campus around midnight and this guy slowed down next to me and all he said was “Do you need a ride?” He came up from behind, so I didn’t see his truck coming, I just heard it slow down, and I was genuinely surprised by his voice. Obviously, I was never going to get into the car, and after I said “No,” he drove off, without another word. I’ve tried to explain to my guy friends how, even though there was only the *chance* that something bad *might* happen (and nothing did), I will always remember the whole experience through two filters. In one version, he was a well-meaning guy who did not understand that there was no reason for me to possibly trust a stranger alone in a car, when I was alone, with no one else around, in the middle of the night. In the other version, I had a conversation with a man who intended to rape me.

    A year-and-a-half later, we were notified that a girl on campus and been raped (she survived) after a man offered her a ride while she was walking home sometime after midnight. The notification email said she thought she knew him, but after she got in the car, she realized she didn’t. That seems like a hard thing to believe, but if her situation played out the way mine had, I can understand if she mistook a really bold or confident offer as indicating familiarity.

Leave a Reply

