Going solo

by

Years ago was bicycling solo, self-supported from Seattle to Denali National Park (in Alaska-~ 4000 mile trip)

Man: So, are you doing this on your own?
Me: yes
Man: So, you must be a lesbian, then?

#MFIF

KZ, USA

10 Responses to “Going solo”

  1. Bikki Says:

    That’s just messed up. >_<;

  2. Jake Says:

    I’m sure some nuance was lost in the format appropriate for this blog, but who’s positive response to “So, are you doing this on your own?” is to say, “so you must be a lesbian”?

    Who talks like that? Sounds like a poorly written Lifetime movie, in fact.

  3. Ilyssa Says:

    My literal reaction as I read this: WTF?! You should have run him over with the bike!

  4. CH Says:

    That’s a shame someone had to say something like that. But that is really impressive, 4,000 miles? Congrats!

  5. Mary Says:

    Jake needs to check his privilege.

    Congrats on the 4000 miles – that is really awesome!!

  6. H Says:

    Jake, although you’re right that some nuance is invariably lost in transcribing a memory into words, I think you’ve misunderstood the preconceptions people have about female travellers. I travelled round Japan last summer, and though it’s absolutely nowhere near comparable to KZ’s amazing achievement, I was still a woman travelling on my own, and people found it very surprising, both before I left and when I was there. I don’t know if this is the same in all countries, but I met very few other solo female travellers.

    Women travelling alone is another of those unspoken taboos, like the ‘curfew’ on women going out after dark, enforced by the periodic repetition of a few horror stories. A woman doing it must be strange in some sort of way, and lesbians have always been the paradigm example of a woman ‘not being quite right’, and therefore able to do ‘male’ things. What this man said to KZ sounds totally plausible to me.

    • Police Says:

      The “unofficial curfew” has been illustrated in a couple other posts on here as well, with women reporting an assault and being told they shouldn’t be out “alone” (i.e. without a man, regardless of the number of female companions) at night.

  7. Nika Says:

    It sucks that someone was dumb/rude enough to make such a remark, but I just wanted to say that I envy your bravery and energy! That sounds like an awesome trip, and I’ve always wanted to do something like that but have been too chicken. (It doesn’t help that my mother is constantly telling me that if I were alone in a strange place that everyone would take advantage of me and I wouldn’t know what to do, etc.)

  8. Kris Says:

    Just wanted to say way to go, OP, for the awesome bike trip. That sounds like the coolest holiday/sports trip ever. Of course, I live in BC (Vancouver), so I’m a bit biased about bike trips through my province 😉

    But seriously, you’re awesome.

  9. Dude Says:

    Well clearly…

Leave a Reply

