Doctor, please

by

During an appointment with a (male, middle-aged) GP, I mentioned, among other symptoms, that I was often feeling dehydrated. The GP’s response was “the only people that suffer from dehydration are people starving in the desert or very old people on their death bed. What you’re talking about is just nonsense made up by women’s magazines.”

So my symptoms are in fact imaginary. It must be #MFIF

Beth

6 Responses to “Doctor, please”

  1. Lauren Says:

    Yep, dehydration never happens to anyone. Which is why there isn’t an NHS advice page about it. http://is.gd/dzyBQ Sexist AND just plain wrong.

  2. Angela Says:

    I hope you bypassed the GP. I got fobbed off for years and then they FOUND something and had to operate immediately. Until then I’m sure I was marked as ‘overly anxious’ or some such bull.

  3. J.D. Hammond Says:

    Obviously someone hasn’t heard “hydrate or die” before – though even if he did, I’m sure he wouldn’t let that get in the way of an opportunity to call a woman hysterical for no good reason.

  4. teleen Says:

    I would report him to the medical board.

  5. Janel Says:

    Or people with undiagnosed diabetes. Why does this man have a license to practice medicine?

  6. Luna_the_cat Says:

    What Janel said.

Leave a Reply

